*greek-out*

It’s all Greek to me…

I am currently reading a book titled, Greek Myths and Legend.

It really amazes me how the stories within this book are quite similar to those stories in the bible. I think that speaks volumes of the power of myth and the grip that stories  have upon us, even when pesky logic try to get all up in it, the myth often prevails. I remember listening to an interview with George Lucas and Terry Gross (hearts) on fresh air and Mr. Lucas shinning his lightsaber on his conscious construction of star wars embodying myths of old.
In an interview with Bill Moyer, Lucas says, “Well, when I did Star wars, I consciously set about to recreate myths. And the classic mythological motifs. And I wanted to use those motifs to deal with issues that existed today.” I think that is pretty obvious that star wars was a hit and that these prevailing myths touch us in a way that makes us spend lots of money at the movie theaters, buy action figures as adults, and become people like Trekkies, wait that is Star Trek (I always get them confused), anyways you get the point…ps you should really watch Trekkies if you haven’t.

There is this really cool educational project done by ABC Australia, winged sandals, where you can learn and interact with classic mythological figures. You can listen to stories, play games, make crafts, ask the oracle about your future and other fun things. I asked the oracle some questions and it told me look in jars. Really it said, “I will find the answer in a jar.”

Moving to more myth, more magic and The Unicorn! I just listened to this, In our Time, podcast with Melvyn Bragg about the Unicorn.
I then made a little video about how to tell if you have a real unicorn horn or not. Check it out, it could be helpful.

Leave a Reply

