*blue balls*

I dyed wool and then felted it into little balls that I can make into earrings or necklaces today…

*dyeing wool
i went to this web site to help with the dyeing process.
I used food coloring for my dye and it turned out looking great
-soak the wool in part water and part vinegar mixture
-heat the wool on a low simmer with color until water is clear

*felting wool
i went to this web site to help with the felting and making of wool beads.
-I found I needed less soap than I thought I would need
-hot water works better than warm water

I then strung them into a necklace…

My felt beads have lots of little hairs sticking out.
This was my first time felting anything but I think it might be due to the wool, straight off the sheep.
I used warm water and soap for this batch but next time I want to try needle felting.
The great thing about these felt beads are they are so versatile-I would love to make this sometime.

Leave a Reply

