*Words I looked up today*

I haven’t posted in so long. I think my brain melted a little bit and for a period it became really slow. I have all sorts of reasons that I think this happened from increase soda consumption, white bread eating, and winter with it’s lack of vitamin D and fun all were culprits in stealing my smart juice. The sun is shinning (well not right now) and along with it I am ready to fill my brain with stuff again.

I started a book awhile ago that I had to stop reading because the words were too big and the ideas to confusing for me at the time (brain melting time) and instead I read something like three cups of tea and watched Oprah. Thanks god that period of my life is over, though I still love Oprah (perhaps I will explain later or perhaps you will have to judge me and say, uuuuuuuhhhhhhh?).

From Democracy Matters by Cornel West. Words that Cornell knows and I didn’t until now.

plutocracy    the rule or control of society by the wealthy 2. a state or government characterized by the rule of the wealthy 3. a class that exercises power by virtue of its wealth

Cash rules everything around me, including you.

milquetoast a very timid, unassertive, spineless person, especially one who is easily dominated or intimidated: a milquetoast who’s afraid to ask for a raise.

Not to be confused with milk toast.

shib·bo·leth a peculiarity of pronunciation, behavior, mode of dress, etc., that distinguishes a particular class or set of persons. 2.a slogan; catchword. 3. a common saying or belief with little current meaning or truth.

Urban dictionary: Word for a slag word used to denote something cool. such as grovy, shibby, sick

ol·i·gar·chy a form of government in which all power is vested in a few persons or in a dominant class or clique; government by the few. 2.a state or organization so ruled. 3.the persons or class so ruling.

sal·vif·ic of or pertaining to redemptive power.

If you google image redemptive power you get a picture of meatloaf singing.

hu·bris excessive pride or self-confidence; arrogance.

I don’t know the meaning of the word hubris… And I’m just about to enter a “define the word hubris” competition. But I’m not worried. I’m pretty confident that I will win it anyway. –Richard Herring

my·op·ic Ophthalmology . pertaining to or having myopia;  nearsighted. 2.unable or unwilling to act prudently; shortsighted. 3.lacking tolerance or understanding; narrow-minded.

This is pretty sad that I looked this up

he·gem·o·ny leadership or predominant influence exercised by one nation over others, as in a confederation. 2.leadership; predominance. 3. (especially among smaller nations) aggression or expansionism by large nations in an effort to achieve world domination.

cu·pid·i·ty eager or excessive desire, especially to possess something; greed; avarice.

cupidity a story

be·reft  a simple past tense and past participle of bereave. 2.deprived: They are bereft of their senses. He is bereft of all happiness.

Where had I heard this wind before
Change like this to a deeper roar?
What would it take my standing there for,
Holding open a restive door,
Looking down hill to a frothy shore?
Summer was past and the day was past.
Sombre clouds in the west were massed.
Out on the porch’s sagging floor,
Leaves got up in a coil and hissed,
Blindly striking at my knee and missed.
Something sinister in the tone
Told me my secret my be known:
Word I was in the house alone
Somehow must have gotten abroad,
Word I was in my life alone,
Word I had no one left but God.

love Robert Frost

i·con·o·clas·tic attacking or ignoring cherished beliefs and long-held traditions, etc., as being based on error, superstition, or lack of creativity: an iconoclastic architect whose buildings are like monumental sculptures. 2.breaking or destroying images, especially those set up for religious veneration.

This does the same thing to me that fiction and non-fiction does. It makes me confused.

xen·o·pho·bic  unreasonably fearful of or hating anyone or anything foreign or strange.

Xeno means stranger. Xena means warrior princess

per·ni·cious  causing insidious harm or ruin; ruinous; injurious; hurtful: pernicious teachings; a pernicious lie. 2.deadly; fatal: a pernicious disease. 3.Obsolete . evil; wicked.

dr.evil

pro·pi·tious presenting favorable conditions; favorable: propitious weather. 2.indicative of favor; auspicious: propitious omens. 3.favorably inclined; disposed to bestow favors or forgive: propitious gods.

I realize that this is the least interesting post known to man…Sorry. I am effort to make this more fun I will add little extra for your learning fun. Is that making it worse?

Leave a Reply

